A New Beginning

14 Jan

multi1

Just to show you this blog is not all gloom and doom, I’m going to talk about some nice things that have happened to me lately.

In December I accepted a nursing position in the cardiothoracic ICU of a major Pittsburgh hospital. This is joyful news, albeit a bit bittersweet; being a fat, unemployed, alcoholic loser was a personal dream of mine. I’m nervous, of course, and excited, and humbled by the opportunity, and hopeful that I won’t kill anyone. Nursing gives me serenity, and a much-needed respite from the manic-depressive stagecraft of producing fiction. I passed my boards back in November. I also passed my drug screen.

And then there is my writing. Ah, writing. Remember writing? That thing I used to do, before I started this blog? The good news is that my agent loves the new book. The bad news is that my agent loves the new book, and so there are notes. Revisions. Pacing issues. Rewrites. There is also a new-new book, which I hope to finish this year, a crime novel titled THE GROOMSMEN.

Which is all a very circuitous way of saying that this blog is changing. Over the holidays it occurred to me that an excess of introspection is not necessarily a good thing; that maybe I should spend a little less time reflecting on my failures and a little more time concentrating on my future. I am, first and foremost, a writer of fiction; and between working on the new book, submitting stories, nursing, reading, drinking, chasing skirt, and posting moronic tweets, there is only so much time in the day.

Still, I’m proud of what I’ve created here–prouder still of all the people who have gravitated to the blog, and helped promote it, and subscribed to my feed, from India to Jamaica to Canada to Switzerland and Australia and the UK. The response has been so much more positive than anything I could have imagined, and is something I will always remember.

*  *  *

The big news today is that I am opening up the blog to other writers. For those eagle-eyed return visitors, you may have noticed the handy new SUBMIT tab at the top-right corner of the screen. Click that shit. I essentially want to make the blog into a community where writers and artists can share their thoughts on the struggle to make their work known to the world. Everyone, from precocious high schoolers who have yet to place their first story, to famous authors who want to tell us how they ate cigarette butts and grubs on their way to publication, is welcome to participate.

I will still post my own rejections here, and blog about them, as time permits. I will also occasionally use this space to post notes about THE GROOMSMEN, and updates on my other projects, THE GOOD HOUSE and THE DARK BREW. And of course there are always my short stories, my little retarded rugrats, whom I love dearly, and constantly worry about, as parents stress over whether their shiftless children will ever find gainful employment.

So please keep coming here, as your own busy schedule permits; and if you’re feeling especially generous and social, leave a comment; and if you feel like contributing your own letters of rejection to this site, don’t hesitate to shoot me an email or tweet. Thanks again for participating in this little experiment, and please, don’t text while driving (road head is acceptable).

Yours in Christ,

M.S.

 

5 Responses to “A New Beginning”

  1. Rachel Asher January 15, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

    I feel like you just raped my cat.

    • martinslag January 16, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

      Common response to my writing, lol

  2. inktoyou January 16, 2013 at 10:41 pm #

    Great post! I thought for a moment you had rifled through my rejection drawer.

    • martinslag January 16, 2013 at 11:34 pm #

      Haha they all look alike after awhile don’t they? I really liked your Oreo cookie story btw

      • inktoyou January 17, 2013 at 12:35 am #

        Thanks, it has been rejected many times. I should start a competition amongst the biggest losers:-) Oddly enough, I don’t care as much as I used to. I don’t get upset anymore.

Leave a Reply

